Napowrimo- My Letter


So I may be two days late here but I’m jumping on the bandwagon for Napowrimo. If you don’t know what it is let me explain. Every April is considered the national month for writing poetry; one poem a day. The goal is to spread poetry and creativity. Not bad huh? 😉 Well I’m two days late but here is one poem, rather a set of lyrics but I believe it contains enough literary value to be deemed a piece of poetry.

For my readers, I will be posting a new poem alongside the planned post each day. So expect to see two new posts a day in your RSS reader or inbox.

“My Letter”

I write this letter like skin to bone

I’m in this cold room and I’m all alone

but I remember the heartache

and I miss the things we had.

We had such bright sunsets

that not even eyes could bare

waters on beaches, skin so fair

and the tears we have wept

have all been cleansed ‘way.

Away, through the icy tundra

which lines our feet, love on horizon

is all we can see, but the clouds were a ‘brewin

and the showers had moved on in.

Can you remember the night of a valentine?

Orange skies just like clementies

the cement called for something, and the season came today.

One day, I chose to throw it away

I longed for the blue skies to fade gray

but you never can ever, forget your past.

I passed an old man walking down the street yesterday,

he waved but I could not turn his way

’cause the sorrow in his eye was too much for me.

From the mountaintops to the valleys which line our streets

I swim through the air like a fish through the sea

and I breath in this heart break as I breath in you tonight.

From the deepest ocean into the the flattest of plains

I longed for you darlin’  we’re in this the same

and even in the blue, I’ll still be here for you

We would laugh and dance as we would fall

stripping the wallpaper off of the wall

and beneath it’s cover, we found the lies we shared

I shared, the truth between each and every note:

verses and choruses that I composed

and in those wordings the nights are forever ours.

Hours turned to days and days into weeks

as our feelings would fall like the tides and just sleep

and atop the pillows our dreams come undone.

I know that times had come in bleak

we climbped atop each and every mountain peak

but the fire that we had, had been blown all out.

Outside in the summertime we would find

those beautiful things that can not die

for the words so unspoken, will speak before it ends.

An end to the road, yet our feet are soar

I sit on my bed and I stare at the door

but I don’t head a sound, what else to do now?

From the mountaintops to the valleys which line our streets

I swim through the air like a fish through the sea

and I breath in this heart break as I breath in you tonight.

From the deepest ocean into the the flattest of plains

I longed for you darlin’  we’re in this the same

and even in the blue, I’ll still be here for you

By the time you read this, I’ll be gone

my ashes atop hills voice in sad songs

this’ll be the last time, that you cry for me.

For me, don’t let another tear come to your eyes

I promise you there’ll be another sunrise

and the sun which shall rise will warm your face.

Face to face with the next comes in grim

all this time I’ve been holding it in,

and the last thing on my tongue

will be  I love you dear.

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

6 responses to “Napowrimo- My Letter

  • mapelba

    Your dedication and talent are inspiring–even to old people like me. I’ll be interested in things go with NaPoWriMo. I don’t write poetry (not since college anyway), but I’ll be doing a Story a Day in May. With me?

  • Damian Rucci

    Thank you and I definitely am. I actually signed up to the workshop class for it and I’m doing it online, prepping for May.

  • easylifestyles

    I love being with my family and I really enjoy reading your blog very much. Thanks for sharing this excellent job. Feel free to stop by our Easy Lifestyle website anytime.

    A March Madness Poem

  • Maeve

    Nice imagery. You mentioned they were lyrics, and it might have just been me, but I heard the words almost rapped in my head as I read. I’m not sure if that was the effect you were going for, but it was pretty cool.
    I don’t think I’ll have much time this month to write new poems. School and such…
    Check out some of my older ones in my Untitled Collection. I have a knack for not naming my poems, lol.

  • Damian Rucci

    lol I just gave them a look over Maeve and they flow very well. I like them a lot. Thanks everyone for your comments 🙂

  • Poem #2 – To Nana’s House « The Gray Pen

    […] my second Napowrimo poem. I posted my first yesterday, “My Letter”. Check that out if you have a chance, well here’s to day 2 (in reality day 4 […]

Join the Conversation!

