Poem #3 – Paper Spines


Here’s another poem. My third this month. This one is one of my favorites as of now 🙂

I do not write to pay my bills

or adorn my skin in jewels.

I weary away from the mundane

and pen throughout the verse.

I see you; eyes wide

starving for thrill and adventure.

I ease your faminee; my words illustrious

in your mind.

I want you to smell the musk of the Sahara;

to feel the radiaton of the barren sun rays.

I want you to swim amongst coral reefs

as colorful as a rainbow incarnate.

I want you to brush the dew from your lashes,

and stroll through the canopies of the woodlands;

to confront the sinisters of evil and embrace

the heart of the warrior.

I want you to feel the warmth of a maiden’s kiss,

to envoke your heart in wonder

and then gasp as it shatters like porcelin.

I want you to morn the loss of life, and fear Lazarus’s children.

To grow weary of the albatross and the grim;

to place hope in the underdog and fight your way through.

I hope you feel your heart beat with excitement,

and quell with the sorrows of a labored night.

I want you to scream a top the mountains your voice

ehcoing through the valleys along the tired way,

and when you scream I hope your voice booms as

you finally feal alive.

Quite frankly, I want you to pick up a book,

and dive into the adventure.

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

One response to “Poem #3 – Paper Spines

Join the Conversation!

