Poem #9 – Bestfriend


This post is a little late today, I spent most of the day in bed, but hope you enjoy this little poem 🙂

My best friend likes to sleep all day,
she watches Animal Planet with ears ready;
and when we walk around the waterfront she skips
like the beauty of day walked with her.
She hates the rain and whines when I choose to go out;
I try to tell her that I couldn’t take her with me.
‘Course, I leave the lights on for her, and when I spend
the day out and about she stares through my windows
desperate to reach the world outside its panes.
I guess she doesn’t understand, that I can’t take her to school,
to work, to the grocery store or to adventures we embark in the neighborhood.
My best friend lays with me at night, but you can’t have four legs
and go to school.
If you like the poem make sure to rate it and share it via the buttons below 🙂
About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

Join the Conversation!

