What Writing Is


Last Train Home

Today while my girlfriend and I  were on our way back from the train station to our home, an idea crossed my mind. Writing is not for success, or riches or fame; but more along the lines of self-gratitude and fulfillment. If I were never to be a best-selling author or a renowned prolific author I wouldn’t fret or worry. As long as the stories were written and released to the world to entertain, thrill and frighten, then my job would be finished.

I’ve been writing stories for many years since back when I could barely read. Stories began as illustrations narrating tales of valiant fighters and bizarre alien attacks, into vast texts with constructive form and powerful techniques.  I want to be known as a storyteller above all else; someone who saw the world through a creative lens and portrayed the stories of the world both grim and stellar; both horrifying and warming, and of course, captivating.

I guess this post is just a promise, that I will pursue writing and storytelling and will not let it pass me by. Instead, I will die as a storyteller, a writer, and a prolific writer at worst.

Tonight a new poem will go up before 12,

and tomorrow I will finally release the new story (i know, i know)

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

15 responses to “What Writing Is

  • laurastanfill

    Your post reminds me of a conversation a few of us writers had last summer, in the midst of an intense introspective retreat. We all agreed we were going to continue writing whether our work was ever published. There are too many reasons to write–and we all agreed that moments like that one, in a cabin in the woods, sharing pages with each other and talking about the craft is more than enough.

  • mapelba

    Good promise! Keep writing always.

  • Mark

    I was thinking this exact thing the other day. I don’t want to change the world with my writing. But if people have enjoyed it for a few minutes a day and be, as you say, entertained, thrilled or frightened, then that’s all I ask. Though, I would love to do it full time. I don’t have to get paid for it as long as all my other expenses are paid for somehow haha.

  • Damian Rucci

    Great comments! I agree with all, writing is just a necessity, like breathing haha!

  • ryanfrawley

    I get what you’re saying; the work is its own reward. And those who write primarily to make money usually produce pretty awful writing, it seems to me.

    On the other hand – I find it incredibly hard to write in my spare time. Having a day job cripples my capacity for abstract thought, and routine is the tomb of creativity. If I want to write well, I need to be in a certain frame of mind, and it’s not something I can slip into at will. It takes hours to get there; hours I don’t have if I have to hold down a demanding job.

    I’ve spent the last six years writing a novel while I went through various jobs, living situations and romantic relationships. I’m proud of my now-complete novel, and I don’t regret anything, but at the same time, I really don’t know if I have it in me to write another one. Not if I have to do it like I did this one, snatching an hour or two here and there between one obligation and another. So while I’m not looking to make millions from writing, I do want to make enough to support myself without a day job, becasue it seems as long as I have to spend 40+ hours a week doing something I don’t love, I’ll never write as well as I could if I had all day, every day to do it.

    Is it just me?

  • Damian Rucci

    I agree. Of course I want to become a fulltime writer, making money from my craft, because quite frankly, the real world sucks. So as long as I can live in my imaginary world the better. If I never get to that point however, I’ll still be happy that I entertained some, if not a few.

  • Deborah | The Monster in Your Closet

    I love this entry! As for the dialogue in the last few comments, I definitely represent a different faction within the writing world: the sort who doesn’t want to be full time. I’d definitely enjoy not having to work 40 hours a week, but I do derive benefit from my experiences at work. (For example, I get to participate in a different kind of dialogue than I get from eavesdropping at coffee shops. I’m also given a break from the demands of constant creativity.) I wouldn’t want to give up work altogether, but it’s undoubtedly harder finding the energy to write and edit after 10 days on the road and 3 more hours “at work” with my little one. Would that I could simply cast away 3-4 of those work hours daily . . . !

  • Maeve

    I find that full-time writing consists of daydreaming, and the stutter of the pen before the first word goes down. At least for me anyway, getting passed the initial hesitation is difficult. Sometimes I will want to write, but because the idea isn’t settled (matured, or “perfected” if you will), I can’t put it down. It’ll fester in my mind sometimes for days or weeks before I feel comfortable making thoughts words. Having to do that full-time might annoy me, but I’d hope the time in limbo would eventually dwindle.
    Does anyone else have this issue? Even sometimes?

  • Damian Rucci

    Wow these comments are amazing! @Maeve I agree with you, a substantial part of the writing process is the pondering. I usually push an idea around my head for a day or two before I actually write it down, unless it is one of dire importance then I write it down immediately.

    @ryan I agree, that frame of mind is needed for higher writing. It’s not just you man, I work at a grocery store and go to high school. With the amount of hours I work and go to school I have found myself drained from creative thought. Someday I’ll ditch this crap job (hopefully).

  • ryanfrawley

    It is interesting to hear from other perspectives though, like Deborah. I imagine a lot depends on what kind of day job you have, and how much fulfillment and inspiration you get from that. If you actually enjoy your current job, I can see that becoming a full-time writer would be a lot less attractive. However, I’m an exterminator. I kill things for a living. And while it does show me a lot about how other people live, and I get to meet people from different cultures, from all over the world, I’d give it up tomorrow if I didn’t need the money.

    @Maeve: I definitely get that. I’ll let something rattle around in my head for weeks before writing it down usually. Any time I do sit down and try to force myself to write without having some idea already in my head, I usually produce garbage. There’s only been a couple of times where I just sat down and wrote something good more or less on the spot – my short story ‘The Agony of Things’ was one of those times. It’s the best feeling in the world when that happens, but for me at least, it’s incredibly rare.

    • Deborah the Closet Monster

      Your comment on which day job you’re doing is so on the mark! I’d not have said the same thing with any of my prior jobs, but my current job is one I savor. It allows me to work with words in a different way (writing and negotiating contracts) while allowing me to be social. I really love this job, but I’m definitely mindful my job satisfaction is very much tied to the job. If I were back working as an office assistant for an attorney who saw me as a deeply underpaid therapist, I’d feel very differently about all of this right now.

  • mapelba

    I work and I have an 8 year old son. I’ve learned that if I want to write, I need to stop waiting for large blocks of time. And I’ve learned that when I have large blocks of time, I waste more of it than I use. Lack of time focuses me. But I can’t decide. I’d love to have all day to write. There is not just the writing after all. There is also the querying of agents and the business side of things that have to be done as well.

    But having a job, my job anyway, gets me out of my head, forces me to interact with fellow human beings, and is a source of ideas.

    In reality, being able to sit around all day writing is a dream. Even most successful writers have other jobs–like teaching. Only the rare few–JK Rowling, Stephen King–can spend all day writing, and even they have to do things like give interviews and go out to promote their books.

    If you want to hold on to your writing dream, you have to learn to write in the world you’ve got. The world is never going to offer you up time. You have to make time. And there are always reasons not to write–don’t listen to them.

  • Damian Rucci

    Great! Ryan I agree if the chance came I would ditch my job in a heart beat. I consider myself as having a job, writing would be a career. Exterminating does seem pretty sweet actually if not a little spooky.

    @mapelba You always seem to give the best advice Martha! I agree too, but honestly, I don’t think I’d mind promoting my work and doing interviews. I just hate the dreaded 9-5 slaving work that most jobs offer. I’d love taking my writing on the road and killing off the days by writing, editing, and promotional work.

Join the Conversation!

