Vampire Diaries Author Fired… old news but…..


Well I may be a day(several months) or so late on this one, but I figured I’ll bring this up to those of you who are still in the dark (if anyone is). If you are unfamiliar with the series, it is a vampire-romance-esque sort of series that was published as a trilogy back in 1991. Pressure from fans forced L.J. Smith to write a fourth novel and equal pressure/encouragement would lead to another eleven or so books being constructed. This is old news, but I read a post on the Anne Rice fanpage a piece of news delivered at The Wertzone regarding the firing off L.J. Smith from her own series. Though she will still be recognized as the creator of the franchise, she will no longer be working on any future novels in the series.

Bummer.

Now in all legality there was no foul-play conducted. Harper Collins owns the copyright, not the author so they can use the work as they choose. How about morally? Supposedly, the reason she was booted from the series was her take on the new trilogy being written. Smith was deviating away from core character relationships strengthened in the early novels. So they fired her?

I think this is wrong in about fifty different levels and I wish I had learned of this earlier.

What do you think? Do you think that the publisher should have the right to fire the author and hijack the franchise that the author had created?

Answer below in the comments please šŸ™‚

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

5 responses to “Vampire Diaries Author Fired… old news but…..

  • bardicblogger

    No, I don’t think they should! Unbelievable really that they would get away with this. I think a lot of L.J Smith fans will just refuse to buy the books if she hasn’t written them.

    Great Article.

  • Michelle Franklin

    Morally, it is wrong. This is why I went with a smaller publisher- they let me keep my rights. Granted, I didn’t get an advance or a TV Series, but I’ll be damned if I ever let anyone else write my characters.

  • Damian Rucci

    I agree with both of you. Sure big publisher success is always a dream for anyone (well dream as in huge ass advance), I wouldn’t be able to live with them hiring another person to write the rest of my story. When I write I envision everything about my characters, and no one can compensate for the original authors gift. I wonder how the sales figures will turn up.

  • mapelba

    I don’t know the series, but I would think fans wouldn’t buy the books. Or not most of them. It is a shame that they can’t follow the authors visions. Legally, sure okay. But ethically it seems wrong. It seems to mean that storytelling has nothing to do with the author and more to do with marketing.

    The lesson is to consider what you really want when you sign a contract. I can’t even imagine how the author feels.

  • Maeve

    This is a great example of why you should always read a contract before signing it, and hiring a lawyer when it involves who owns the rights to what. I don’t think it should ever be a signed off right that publishing companies can acquire; it’s essentially legalized stealing.

Join the Conversation!

