The Game has Changed


On June 20th, 2011- 60 year old John Locke has hit a quota few can actually brag about: selling over one million e-books on Kindle. Amanda Hocking (the young self-pub author who I mentioned in this article here) claims she has also sold one million e-books, but not on Kindle yet. With Amazon, Barnes n’ Nobles, and now even private publishers taking the role in the e-book trade, what will be left of the paper world? E-books are now the most convenient format of literacy, available across Kindles, Nooks, I-pads, smart phones, computers and any other device that has a screen and an internet connection! I’m a fan of books (just love the smell of a newly purchased book in my hand), but now I wonder if in this next decade how such printed books will fair against their versatile competitors.

I first came across e-books sometime back in 2006, when I was only thirteen. A man I had known from Boy Scouts (yeah, yeah shut up), carried around a Palm PDA that he would use to carry phone numbers and important stuff like that. He knew my interest in books, so he pulled me aside one day and showed me something called an e-book. Essentially, it looked like a .txt file just displayed across the screen, but it was the start of a revolution we are witnessing now in this day. Of course, learning of this I booted up my dial-up and searched for any sort of e-book area. I can’t remember spotting any huge sites, except maybe E-pub, and the Gutenberg Project (a collection of public domain books, free of charge). Nothing seemed to interest me. Even back then, before the e-book hoarder frenzy, I’d Google Harry Potter e-books and find a thousand listings of pirated scans or crude type ups of the original tale. Now J.K. Rowling is releasing her HP tales via Pottermore.

You might remember that J.K. Rowling never sold her E-rights (I guess you’d call them that?) to her publisher, and kept it to herself. This frustrated tech-savvy fans when the revolution began to take way and e-books were shared as easy as mp3s. Now Pottermore will have some cool interactive stuff, and allow the e-books to be purchased directly through J.K. (I believe). Here’s the video:

One issue I see now with Amazon and BN is that many authors are offering their e-books at ninety-nine cents. I know Amazon pays 70% royalty via the service, but is that nearly enough revenue? Is the mentality quantity vs. quality of payments? However, I have noticed that some big authors still charge up to 4-5 dollars (and some even higher) for their work. Why not? I’ve spotted some books up to forty dollars at my local BN.

Here’s my question for all of you:

Do you think that E-books will completely override the need for brick n’ mortar stores and printed books?

Or will they coincide like Mp3s and CDs?

Here’s some articles I’ve found with great insight:

http://mashable.com/2010/07/19/reading-faceoff-e-books-vs-print-books/

funny but true!! http://www.foxnews.com/scitech/2011/06/14/force-behind-kindle-nook-ebook-sales-heaving-bosoms/

http://jakonrath.blogspot.com/2011/06/ebook-sales-down.html

Remember to click the share buttons, thank you 🙂 and answer the question belowww

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

One response to “The Game has Changed

  • mapelba

    I so conflicted on the e-book subject. E-books have great possibilities. Places that can’t have libraries or bookstores, people who travel and can’t carry around a dozen books in the bag, a way to reach more readers, fewer trees cut down (although all that power to run the e-readers), easier distribution, more options for writers…

    Lots of good things. But the loss of paper books…that seems to matter. Already it has happened that if a company puts an e-book in your e-reader, it can take it out. Can governments then control what its people read, are we narrowing the books we find to read (no more happy accidental finds wandering around the bookstore), bookstore people out of work…

    I love books.

    I don’t know what will happen. And who knows what is around the corner.

Join the Conversation!

