Poem- Graduation – Old Song


Well I haven’t shared a poem here in a while and it’s sad to admit that I’ve become slightly rusted; so needless to say I’ve been writing loads of stuff to draft up some new material. Here’s a song I wrote for my old band on our demo CD. Some of the lyrics are slightly altered because at the studio I liked to rearrange words to best fit the pace of the song. 

Our hidden ties those muffled lies

and everything that we had said is gone

and I swore before that day, I would never find

myself so played.

But next  thing I recall

I was catching in the rye fields

and the children were singing

but I’m still naive.

Let’s run away

I can’t believe

it’s make believe

“we can find a way”

lies.

We walked on shells, painted nails

teenage angst in the back of a car

candy rings, hot summer things

the past is never really far,

cause I can smell your perfume on my clothes

preschool to crimson robes

if I can run away, just fade to gray

will you remember anything?

Let’s run away

I can’t believe

it’s make believe

“we can find a way”

lies.

Last thing I recall

we were lying in the mud

and I can’t count the times

you told me you were mine.

I can see you, I can hear you

I can smell you, you’re here

now you’re not.

Let’s run away

I can’t believe

it’s make believe

“we can  find a way”

lies.

From the bottom

I watched the days slip from my fingers

I know he’s right for you

and I’m so wrong

but still you’re beautiful.

yeah.

Here’s the musaaaaaac

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

2 responses to “Poem- Graduation – Old Song

Join the Conversation!

