Life After the Web


The twenty-first century is a web of interconnections between hosts and consumers- a never ending flood of information painted across LCD screens. The internet has eloped with beautiful technology to provide a near essential outlet to the communication highway. Everyday we stroll around with our smart-phones in our pockets and laptops in our bags. Computers live within every house hold, sometimes several in a room. Multiple monitor displays. desk tops, net books. tablets, and even video game systems linger in a space that has consumed our culture. The internet has provided an endless  outlet to anyone who wishes to express themselves and find others like them.

The last several months I’ve lived away from this network. My laptop’s power supply destroyed, my home computer occupied by greedy hands, and my phone company attempting to strangle me to fill their coffers. But it’s hard to say that I actually miss it. Well, let me rephrase that- it is a commodity I would love to have, but it doesn’t kill me the way I had imagined. Sure, I love browsing the web and spending countless hours watching youtube videos or blogging, but the outside world always brings its own bag of goodies.

Outside of glossy monitor displays and away from the click-clack of keyboard keys the world still lingers outside full of life. A world of community, love, inspiration, creativity, and work, and school and blah blah blah and other bullshit. But I have discovered that a month or maybe two away from the succubus-like- social landscapes of the internet really isn’t as evil or heartbreaking as it may seem. Since the semester has started I’ve been writing my ideas down on paper! I know the very idea in the 21st century is so hard to swallow- the idea that paper may still be used for practical meanings rather than recycling.
I’m typing this post on the family computer during the morning hours as to grasp the only peace and tranquility of the day. Someday soon I’ll be able to purchase another computer and fix my laptop, but until then I’ll be just fine walking around and scribbling down ideas and daunting words on busted notebooks and paper pages.

 

Could you last a day without the web?

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

Join the Conversation!

