Camp Nanowrimo


 

Well two nights ago I received an email from Nanowrimo.org about a summer version of Nanowrimo that they offer via Camp Nanowrimo. Now if you don’t know what this odd sounding word means, it is an annual writing contest/ event where writers attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in a mere 30 days. So that’s like 1500+ words a day. Oh yeah.

Well the fun really comes from meeting other like-minded writers as you struggle to fulfill your word counts.  This summer version is the same, but somewhat different.  It is more lax and offers two separate events the June version and the August version. Once it begins you are grouped with 8 (I think) other writers in “cabins”. The idea is cool and there are preferences to determine  who will end up in your confines of cabin-mates.

I’m very excited for this cyber-camp ground, because I have failed the last two Nanowrimos. So far I have signed up for the August version, but I may just sign up for the June as well(free of course).

Anyone else doing Camp Nanowrimo? Let me know in the comments so we can “bunk” up.

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

7 responses to “Camp Nanowrimo

  • mjgriffor

    I’m a two time participant (and one time winner) of NaNoWriMo and I was just getting ready to start a new novel….so it seemed like the thing to do. I will also be trying to keep my followers updated on my progress. And I figure doing so will be a handy guilt stick to keep me on task. Hope to see you around camp.

    • Damian Rucci

      @mj that sounds great hope to see you around and I will surely follow your blog to keep up on your stuff.

      @robin you’re totally right. I have quite a few real life friends who avidly support nanowrimo in my writing club in college. Glad you’re back blogging again!!

  • Robin

    I think a writer’s success at Nanowrimo depends heavily on setting realistic goals. 50K words is a lot, but not so much if you break it down by weeks. And then at some point you have to answer the question, “Is 50k words really a novel?” to your own satisfaction. I would argue that it’s a good start on a novel. And I would also argue that if you can write 50k words in ANY month, you are succeeding at something — you’ve certainly whipped that internal editor into submission.

    The cabin idea sounds GREAT. When I did Nanowrimo, I had a hard time communing with other writers because I was so darn busy writing. For those of us who like to be hermits (and I think that’s true of many writers), that part can be challenging. I hope the cabin concept helps with that.

    If you decide to do it, I wish you much success. I also found that it was helpful to garner the support of people I live with in advance, because writing 50k can make you a little wigged out in real life. Better yet, if you can find a real live person who will do it with you, call you up and say, hey, let’s meet at Starbucks and write 1000 words together, then that is a VERY valuable thing.

    Let me know if you decide to do June. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for how you’re doing here on your blog!

  • geezergirl1

    well.. I’m thinking on trying it in August. I’m really a poet that has a novel or two brewing and brewing and not really going any where. good luck

  • Damian Rucci

    Reluctantly I’m a bit of dreamer so I haven’t done any serious writing in a while, but I’m trying to change that.

  • Joy Smith (@theinsanewriter)

    I may actually do it this year. I tried a while back, but life got way too busy.

  • truck dealers Valdosta georgia

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Join the Conversation!

