Sleep Journal and finding Inspiration


I’ve been tiptoeing back into the writing game and besides this little blog here I am still a far way off. Somehow I want to inch myself to 2k words a day to prepare myself for the August Camp Nanowrimo event. Well I’ve mentioned in my post Dream Scapes , that my dreams have made a turn for the bizarre, yet wonderful. Each night I am gifted with near hours worth of narrative content etched along my brain. While these dreams may only physically appear within minutes, the dreams feel like an eternity that draw on all of my senses truly allowing me to develop an understanding of emotion within these narratives. Now while these dreams are random and without direction, I do believe it will one day be possible for me to manipulate the dreams and use my sleep cycles to  power my own writing.

I have several scraps of paper around my now clean bedroom listing the events of my dream. I find that the further I am away from the dream, the more my memory seems to fall away. But a journal seems like the perfect solution. Even Evernote or list on my hard drive could fulfill the need to remember such dreams. What ideas could be picked from my subconscious? Well my ideas are the means behind my war and the words are weapons, but I must take the ideologies and utilize my weapons with finesse in order to craft the perfect war machine of the arts.

Even a hundred or so words a night will be a start. By the end of July I want to be at nearly 2000 words a night. That was my old writing schedule before I tanked. Maybe if I finish Camp Nanowrimo, I can even step up my game to 3000 words a night or even 4000 by November! What? Can you imagine the possibilities of writing 4000 words a night? A novel length manuscript in merely 10 days? Of course, it’s unrealistic, but being able to slay the blank page with such returned confidence would be crucial.

 

Well guys just checking in with you ,letting you know I’m not giving up and I’m continuing to build my forces until I can conquer the blank page.

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

One response to “Sleep Journal and finding Inspiration

  • mapelba

    I’m glad you’re still at it. Even when you get stuck, get distracted, get discouraged, come back to writing. Never give up! After all, this world needs all the talent it can get.

    Good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo. I hope to do NaNo again this November…but things might be too crazy. We’ll see.

Join the Conversation!

