Where No One Listens


It’s 2012 and it seems that the microphones are surrounding every single move we make or words we say.

Journals are also great for writing lyrics. Yessir

No, I’m not talking about the government or some conspiracy theories that are likely true; thank you Patriot Act. No. I’m talking about the internet and its social implications. Everything we do online is available for the world to chronicle, archive, and read forever. I love blogging. While this blog is more niche` than others, I still find that many of my ideas I am able to share and explain without the need to feel insecure. However, there is also downsides to this public nature: the decline of journaling. Journaling?Yes their may be a better verb to use, but I like the word. How many people actually write in a journal? Too few.

I just picked up a cheap composition notebook from the dollar store and I’ve started some writing. I barely hand-write anymore, so this is a pleasant change. I found an article 101 Reasons To Write a Journal, and it goes over 101 different reasons to start writing in a journal. Some of them are obvious: recording ideas, expression emotion, and plan future things. Others are less obvious: learning to trust yourself, discovering hidden talents, and unraveling romantic confusion. It truly is a great list of things, very enlightening.

This new journal of mine is like a safe haven. I can write whatever I choose, without sharing it with the world. I’ve began to to jot notes about story ideas, poetry lines from my brain, my inner thoughts, and blog ideas. More and more I will write just to ease my head and get the load of worries off of my chest. This is also for general ideas  that pop up from time to time. I think this is actually a first step in a longer journey of success and a healthy lifestyle.

The End Result

Don’ She look Pretty

Pretty much I’m taking writing more and more serious. I try to write 1000 words a day of fiction, read for a half hour, and now hand write in my journal for a half hour as well. I’m hoping that my anxieties and imagination can both benefit from burrowing my ideas in these pages.

Do you journal? Do you think that writing in a journal benefits the modern writer as doing so becomes rarer and rarer?

Would love to hear your answers below in the comments section!

Remember to subscribe to stay in touch.

About Damian Rucci

D.F. Rucci is a writer, blogger, and a musician from a small town in New Jersey. View all posts by Damian Rucci

4 responses to “Where No One Listens

  • geezergirl1

    Hi Damian. I’m with you on this conversation. As a daily blogger, and revealer, having a place to write unshared words is good. Like you, I have taken to journaling again, tho’ not daily. I journal-ed for almost 3 decades, hand writing everything. I have sooooo many journals. Now, I rarely, free write by hand. It IS, nice to do and thanks for reminding me. There is something sacred in sitting quietly and just writing without hinderance.
    peace to you

    • Damian Rucci

      @geezergirl1 Thanks for the great comment! I think that we all of us are becoming completely used to writing on a keyboard. I haven’t written a line since last semester. I think that a little bit of handwriting in a journal a day is such a relief. I’m on day 3 and it’s working great so far!

  • aysjaysandayches

    Yay! I do indeed have a journal…although, this post reminded me that I should really spend more time with it… So important, and great to look back and see the REAL timeline of your life. 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Damian Rucci

      @aysjaysandayches No thank you for commenting 😀 Writing in a journal is such a great exercise for a writer. It let’s me let off the steam and ideas that are swimming in my brain!

Join the Conversation!

